translating for law attorneys?
Thread poster: Sophie Medina
Sophie Medina
Sophie Medina
France
English to French
Sep 23, 2022

Hello,
I have been translating patents for 18 years now, for agencies worldwide.
For various reasons I would like to work with direct clients.
I have contacted various law attorneys and they simply IGNORE me (in France or abroad). Not even a word to say "we are not interested".
On their websites, they never mention patent translators, though on the PDFs we translate, we very often find their names.

So my questions are, is it possible to work directly with th
... See more
Hello,
I have been translating patents for 18 years now, for agencies worldwide.
For various reasons I would like to work with direct clients.
I have contacted various law attorneys and they simply IGNORE me (in France or abroad). Not even a word to say "we are not interested".
On their websites, they never mention patent translators, though on the PDFs we translate, we very often find their names.

So my questions are, is it possible to work directly with them? Do they prefer dealing with agencies? Should I insist?
Thanks for any info...

Sophie
Collapse

Ali Aden
nilesh bade

Michael Newton
Michael Newton  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 16:30
Japanese to English
+ ...
Translating for law attorneys Sep 23, 2022

1. Have some business cards made up with name, address, mobile and so forth.
2. Work up a very professional one-page letter than pitches your talents and your experience.
Include: education; list of clients; outstanding cases you have worked on. Utility models as well as patents; office actions; e-
discovery; indicate what technologies you have worked with: electronics, pharmed, mechanical.
it must be succinct and tell the attorney what they want to know i
... See more
1. Have some business cards made up with name, address, mobile and so forth.
2. Work up a very professional one-page letter than pitches your talents and your experience.