Thread poster: Roy Williams
Roy Williams
Roy Williams  Identity Verified
Austria
Local time: 17:14
German to English
Jan 17, 2012

Hi Everyone,

I have a hard copy of a document that I would like to scan and convert to a word file with OCR software.
The document is several pages long and as I've never tried this before, I'm wondering what is the best was to do this without ending up with a separate word file for converted each page.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance,

Roy

[Edited at 2012-01-17 13:53 GMT]

Sergei Leshchinsky
Sergei Leshchinsky  Identity Verified
Ukraine
Local time: 18:14
Member (2008)
English to Russian
+ ...
Press F1 in you OCR application Jan 17, 2012

Roy Williams
Austria
German to English
TOPIC STARTER
Test version Jan 20, 2012

Hi,

Thanks for responding. Im current using Abby Finereader in trail mode and therefore can save more than one page.

I've tried some free OCRs but the results have been disappointing to say the least. With OCR do you use?

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
ABBYY FineReader 8.0 Pro Jan 20, 2012

Roy Williams wrote:
The document is several pages long and as I've never tried this before, I'm wondering what is the best was to do this without ending up with a separate word file for converted each page.

I have ABBYY FineReader 8.0 Pro, and when you save the batch, it gives you the option of saving the entire batch as a single file, to save the pages of each source file in a single file named after the source file, or to save the individual pages using a name scheme.

If you're scanning and OCR'ing in one operation, then the OCR program might OCR only the currently scanned page. My suggestion is to scan all the pages to JPG and then use the OCR program to process all of them at once.

I've tried some free OCRs but the results have been disappointing to say the least.