US-based translators working with non-US agencies - what to know before applying?
Thread poster: Katherine McMonagle (X)
Katherine McMonagle (X)
Katherine McMonagle (X)
United States
Local time: 22:51
Spanish to English
+ ...
Aug 20, 2020

Hello everyone,
I am still pretty new to translating and have just started contacting agencies this month. I have stuck with US-based agencies, as I am in the US and it seemed like a logical place to start. However, I would like to apply to agencies in other countries as well.

For those who work with international agencies (not just US-based translators but anyone), is it fairly smooth to work with international clients? (mainly in terms of payment) or is there anything impo
... See more
Hello everyone,
I am still pretty new to translating and have just started contacting agencies this month. I have stuck with US-based agencies, as I am in the US and it seemed like a logical place to start. However, I would like to apply to agencies in other countries as well.

For those who work with international agencies (not just US-based translators but anyone), is it fairly smooth to work with international clients? (mainly in terms of payment) or is there anything important to know (i.e, a CV instead of a resume, extra identification documents, etc.)

Thanks!
Collapse

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 04:51
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
@Katherine Aug 21, 2020

Like with US agencies, you have to perform due diligence before accepting work. In my case, I prefer working with European customers for several reasons: time zones difference, the fact that I don’t accept payment by cheque or Paypal and the exchange rate variations. This being said, I do have two or three very occasional US clients…

Katherine McMonagle (X)
Marina Steinbach

To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator: