Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
What is the standard profit margin of an agency on a project outsourced to a freelancer?
Thread poster: Lagom
Lagom
Lagom  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 08:48
Swedish to English
Feb 21, 2006

What is the standard profit margin of an agency on a project outsourced to a freelancer.

Thanks, Ben

Rebecca Lowery
Rebecca Lowery  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
French to English
At least 40% Feb 21, 2006

Hello!

I used to work as a project manager for a translation agency in Birmingham. Basically an agency is aiming for at least 40% profit margin and it can be up to 50 or 60%.

Lagom
Lagom  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Swedish to English
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks Feb 21, 2006

Rebecca Lowery wrote:

Hello!

I used to work as a project manager for a translation agency in Birmingham. Basically an agency is aiming for at least 40% profit margin and it can be up to 50 or 60%.

Hi Rebecca,

So a rough idea of the price invoiced by an agency direct to the client is around 40% more than the price they pay a freelancer for the same project.

Do you know whether there are any uptodate examples of agency rates published online anywhere as there are surveys of freelancers?

Many thanks,

Ben

Egmont
Egmont
Spain
Local time: 09:48
Afrikaans to Spanish
+ ...
Spain profit margin Feb 21, 2006

Benjamin Love wrote:

Rebecca Lowery wrote:

Hello!

Hi Rebecca,

So a rough idea of the price invoiced by an agency direct to the client is around 40% more than the price they pay a freelancer for the same project.

Do you know whether there are any uptodate examples of agency rates published online anywhere as there are surveys of freelancers?

Many thanks,

Ben
Up to 100% usually...

Alison Schwitzgebel
Alison Schwitzgebel
France
German to English
+ ...
Profit margin or mark up? Feb 21, 2006

Rebecca Lowery wrote:

Hello!