How easy is it for a Trados user to start using MemoQ?
Thread poster: conejo
conejo
conejo  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 14:56
Japanese to English
+ ...
Mar 31, 2020

Hello. I know how to use the normal functions in SDL Trados Studio that are most frequently used and that are required to translate jobs, and use it regularly. As of right now I have no experience with other CAT tools.

After a long negotiation a potential client has suddenly said all their jobs are in MemoQ, which was never mentioned before as being a requirement. They supposedly provide a license without me having to buy it myself.

My question is, how hard is it for so
... See more
Hello. I know how to use the normal functions in SDL Trados Studio that are most frequently used and that are required to translate jobs, and use it regularly. As of right now I have no experience with other CAT tools.

After a long negotiation a potential client has suddenly said all their jobs are in MemoQ, which was never mentioned before as being a requirement. They supposedly provide a license without me having to buy it myself.

My question is, how hard is it for someone who knows Trados to just start using MemoQ? Is it very similar to Trados? Or is there a big learning curve? How much time should I expect to need to spend trying to learn MemoQ before using it? (Specifically, how long would it take to become able to use the normal functions that you would always need to use to translate a job? Not any fancy or advanced or obscure functions.) Or is it intuitive and not that hard to learn if I know Trados already?

I'm wondering if this is something where I would be able to hit the ground running pretty quickly, or if I should be wary of accepting jobs in this until I've had time to spend a lot of time studying.

[Edited at 2020-03-31 14:11 GMT]
Collapse

Mikhail Kropotov
Mikhail Kropotov  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 21:56
English to Russian
+ ...
Should be pretty intuitive Mar 31, 2020