Deleted translated files! Can you help?
Thread poster: segment
segment
segment
English to French
May 17, 2006

I am new to Trados. I was working on my second document - 2000 words in Word (with a small TM and Termbase I had just created). All was going well: I was saving regularly in Word; TM and Termbase were working. I did my first draft with Trados, then spent an hour polishing off the text in Word. I saved the document in Word then closed it to do a "cleanup" through Trados... and my translation became nowhere to be found! It was completely removed from my system! I tried to find it with MS "Find Fil... See more
I am new to Trados. I was working on my second document - 2000 words in Word (with a small TM and Termbase I had just created). All was going well: I was saving regularly in Word; TM and Termbase were working. I did my first draft with Trados, then spent an hour polishing off the text in Word. I saved the document in Word then closed it to do a "cleanup" through Trados... and my translation became nowhere to be found! It was completely removed from my system! I tried to find it with MS "Find File" function, in my backup files, with Google Desktop, to no avail! It's like the document never existed. After panicking, I tried running the original document through the TM again and, indeed, it worked... However, what Trados inserted was not my "polished up" version, but the first draft... so I lost 2 hours of work (1 panicking and looking for the file, 1 touching up my first draft again).

Any idea what happened there? I don't want this to EVER happen!

Cheers.

François
Collapse

Astrid Elke Witte
Astrid Elke Witte  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 22:45
Member (2002)
German to English
+ ...
It's called the Trados black hole May 17, 2006